Status Update

So, how am I doing since I recommitted to low carb 12/31?

I started then at 276.6 (I think I even saw a high of 278) and today am 268.  I’ve flirted with 266.6, but I’ll have to claim 268 as that’s where the scale is currently most familiar ; ).

So, for nearly 4 weeks, that’s a loss of 8.6, or a 2lb/week average.  I’ve struggled a bit, made some poor choices with sweets around TOM.  I admit…I basically ate a ton of ReadiWhip with berries and while low carb, it has HFCS and a serving amount is small, not the whole can.  And some days due to cheese usually, I ate my way beyond my desired 1650 calories.  Plus, I had one dinner out that while I asked for no breading (seafood), I did not get my request and didn’t fight it ; /.  Then this week I slipped and had some candy from my coworkers bowl.  I know exactly why I did this–I hadn’t had solid sleep and was seeking a carb high for energy.  That lack of sleep was due to my dog and is something I’m desperately trying to turn around, but it’s been going on 5 months now and I’m at a loss.

But I digress.  So, in Month 1, I have truly come to recommit and believe that I must low carb to lose weight.  I also firmly believe I must really do it by the book (ordered DANDR online as I can’t find my copy), and must be consistent.  I know my triggers (TOM, stress, exhaustion) and must be prepared to handle them, be at the ready for when they come.  Time has been tight though and preparation is an unfortunate challenge.  I already spend 1 day a week cooking like a mad woman. 

I just so don’t have free time.  Life is a desperate cry for sleep, a 2.5 hour commute r/t daily.  Getting ot the gym these days 3-4x a week is what i’ve been able to muster.  Yesterday, my trainer was a little vocal–“No more kidding around”, she said, referring to my downgrading from 6 days a week to 4 at the gym the last few months.  But I don’t think she’s really hearing me about my level of exhaustion.  This came upon me when I turned 40 in August and hit me so hard.  I must sleep and am doing what I can to get it and stay afloat.  I intend to schedule my physical this week and get bloodwork done so we can see if there’s a reason behind my dog-caused insomnia for my lack of energy.

So to wrap up, I take this month as more lessons on my journey:

  • Find alternatives to sweets
  • Be prepared
  • Count carbs and calories
  • Measure, measure, measure
  • Strive for 5 days exercise/week
  • Be consistent and persistent
  • Lessons are part of the journey
  • All losses count
  • Maintaining losses help define success
  • Focus on big picture averages, not small perspective lack of losses
  • Just do the do and stop obsessing about it
Leave a Reply

